Welcome to Hungary

Welcome to Hungary

Last modified: 19. October 2022

Welcome to Hungary!


Budapest (the capital)
Danube Bank View, Buda Castle District and Andrássy Avenue

This encompasses the area on the Buda side which stretches from the Buda abutment of Petőfi Bridge across Gellért Hill and Tabán up to Castle Hill (Várhegy) and the Water town (Víziváros), and on the Pest side, from the Pest abutment of Margaret Bridge to Petőfi Bridge. Andrássy Avenue was added to the list as it presents a uniform architectural image of Budapest, connecting Elizabeth Square, in the capital's innermost area, with Heroes' Square.

The old village of Hollókő and its surroundings

The old part of Hollókő village, a settlement nestling in the Cserhát Hills, has preserved its distinctive traditions to this day. Hollókő was the first village to be declared a World Heritage Site. The history of the village goes back to the 13th century, when after the Mongol invasion the castle was built on Szár Hill. The name (holló=raven, kő=stone) perhaps, comes from the legend in which the lord of a castle kidnapped a pretty maiden, whose nurse was a witch and closed her into a room of the castle. The nurse made a pact with the devil to rescue the girl: the devil's minions, disguised as ravens, took the stones of the castle away. The village is not just an open-air museum that exhibits folk traditions, but also a living village where traditions and everyday life go hand in hand. www.hollokotourism.hu


Aggtelek National Park

This area which stretches across the border is extremely rich in caves. There is a spectacular, 22 kilometre long system of caves in the region. Dazzling rock and crystal formations with names that include Dragon's Head, Tiger, Mother in Law's Tongue and the Hall of Giants - as well as dozens of underground lakes and winding passages - can be explored as part of a number of guided tours.

The Benedictine Arch abbey of Pannonhalma and its natural surroundings

The Arch abbey is one of the oldest historical monuments in Hungary. The first Benedictine monks settled here in 996. Its 1000-year history can be seen in the succession of architectural styles of the monastic buildings (the oldest dating from 1224), which even today house a school and the monastic community.

Hortobágy National Park

It became a national park in 1973, making it the first of the kind in Hungary. Its area is over 800 km2. Hortobágy is similar to a steppe, a grassy plain with cattle, sheep, oxen, and horses, tended by herdsmen, and it provides habitat for various different species (342 bird species have been registered to appear). Its emblematic sight is the Nine-holed Bridge; besides, this is the place for traditional sweep-wells. Hortobágy is Hungary's largest protected area and the largest natural grassland in Europe.

Early Christian Necropolis in Pécs

In the centre of the town of Pécs, beneath Cathedral Square (Dóm tér) and St Stephan's Square (Szent István tér) there is a Christian cemetery from the 4th-6th century. Research and excavations thus far have uncovered various burial constructions and over a hundred burial sites around a tomb chapel, a cemetery building and a mausoleum. The first painted crypts were discovered in 1780. They are ornamented with Biblical scenes, images of the apostles Peter and Paul, and floral and animal motifs. Parts of the heritage complex are open to the public.

Cultural landscape of Lake Fertő

Lake Fertő is the second largest lake in Central Europe, located in the Austrian-Hungarian border. The lake covers 315 km2, of which 240 km2 is on the Austrian side and 75 km2 on the Hungarian side. The special habitats and the rural architecture surrounding Lake Fertő on both the Hungarian and the Austrian sides form the Heritage Site. The territory which remains of the originally enormous area of marsh and wetland has preserved a unique flora and fauna, as well as an invaluable array of landscape, ethnographic and cultural historic assets.

Tokaj-Hegyalja wine region

Tokaj-Hegyalja is a historic wine region located in Northeastern Hungary. The region consists of 28 villages and 7 000 hectares of classified vineyards. The home of the world famous wine Tokaji Aszú that the French king, Louis XIV called the 'king of wines and the wine of kings'.